1976 Leonard Cohen Montreux Bootleg: Once More For Marianne


Dominique BOILE sends word of another bootleg of the June 25, 1976 Leonard Cohen concert with the opportunistic to the point of distasteful title, Once More For Marianne.  The double CD set comprises 25 songs, including my personal favorite, “Do I Have To Dance All Night” (released only as a single in Europe). It is currently listed at the French, UK, and Japanese Amazon sites where it will be available Oct 14, 2016.

Update: See Leonard Cohen – Once More For Marianne: Cover Art, Booklet, & CD

From the UK Amazon site:
Audio CD (14 Oct. 2016)
Number of Discs: 2
Label: Golden Rain

Track Listings

Disc: 1
1. Bird on the Wire (4:46)
2. So Long, Marianne (6:58)
3. Who by Fire (4:11)
4. Hey, That s No Way to Say Goodbye (4:38)
5. Store Room (5:09)
6. One of Us Cannot Be Wrong (4:45)
7. Lady Midnight (4:01)
8. There Is a War (5:26)
9. I Tried to Leave You (5:40)
10. Diamonds in the Mine (4:06)
11. Chelsea Hotel #2 (5:36)
12. The Stranger Song (5:57)
13. You Know Who I Am (3:05)

Disc: 2
1. The Partisan (4:09)
2. Story of Isaac (4:45)
3. Famous Blue Raincoat (5:21)
4. Lover, Lover, Lover (6:17)
5. Sisters of Mercy (6:20)
6. Is This What You Wanted (5:28)
7. Suzanne (4:14)
8. The Butcher (5:03)
9. Bird on the Wire (Version 2) (4:47)
10. Tonight Will Be Fine (3:59)
11. Joan of Arc (aborted) (5:56)
12. Do I Have to Dance All Night (5:13)

Product Description

SUPERB 1976 PERFORMANCE FROM COHEN WHILE ON HIS NEW SKINS TOUR This magisterial concert by the inimitable Canadian singer-songwriter and poet, Leonard Cohen, was broadcast live from Montreux, Switzerland, towards the end of his 55-date European tour of 1976. By this stage in his career, the 41-year old Cohen had released four studio albums, debuting with the outstanding Songs Of Leonard Cohen for CBS Records in 1967. Six of that superb record s best songs are presented this evening: Hey, That s No Way to Say Goodbye, One Of Us Cannot Be Wrong, Sisters Of Mercy, The Stranger Song and So Long, Marianne. The latter, in particular, is a spell-binding performance, a gorgeous homage to Cohen s lover and muse Marianne Ihlen (1935-2016), and a song which many fans consider was given its most entrancing performance at this very show. Cohen s 1969 sophomore album, the stark Songs From A Room , supplies seven songs to the set, including the classic and probably best known cut from the entire Cohen canon, Bird On The Wire, which is also given the singular honour of being performed twice, and is accompanied by You Know Who I Am, The Partisan (Cohen s moving adaptation of the wartime French resistance anthem Le Chant Des Partisans), the bleak Story Of Isaac, The Butcher, Lady Midnight and Tonight Will Be Fine. The similarly uncompromising 1971 album Songs of Love and Hate contributes the lively Diamonds in the Mine, and Famous Blue Raincoat (later adapted by another of Cohen s ex-backing singers, Jennifer Warnes, on her own 1987 album of Cohen covers Famous Blue Raincoat ). Oddly in a unique moment, the haunting Joan Of Arc (the penultimate performance of the evening) is abruptly abandoned by Cohen who calls a halt just as it s reaching its conclusion. Half-a-dozen further songs promote Leonard s then most recent album, the comparatively lush New Skin for the Old Ceremony . Undoubted highlights are his paean to a lover from the past, Janice Joplin, on Chelsea Hotel #2, the chilling roll-call of Who By Fire, I Tried to Leave You, Lover, Lover, Lover and the plaintive Is This What You Wanted. There are two songs performed too which do not originate on studio albums; the rare Do I have To Dance All Night was only otherwise issued as a 45rpm single in Europe, in a live version recorded earlier on this same tour in Paris. Finally there is Store Room, a 1967 song that remained resolutely non-album until being added as a bonus to the 2007 reissue of his debut.

One Reply to “1976 Leonard Cohen Montreux Bootleg: Once More For Marianne”

  1. Maureen Smillie

    Thanks for this info.
    Have just ordered it on Amazon to be delivered October 14 – it’s going to quite an October!