Songs of Leonard Cohen Wins Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize (Jury Vote)1960-1975

slaight-heritage-prizeThe Polaris Prize Facebook Page has announced that Leonard Cohen has won the Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize jury vote for the period of 1960-1975 for the album Songs of Leonard Cohen


The Heritage Prize is an offshoot of the Polaris Prize. It is our version of a Hall of Fame for Canadian albums. It attempts to answer the question “what would have won or been nominated for Polaris before it started in 2006?” It is a music obsessive bar room conversation come to life.

How it works is a select group of Canadian music media and historians gather together each year to create a vote-curated list of 10 Short List-nominated albums per era. Two albums per era, one chosen by public vote and one chosen by juror vote, will be designated as Heritage Prize winners each year.

The other 1960-1975 nominees follow:

  • The Band: Music From Big Pink (1968)
  • The Band: The Band (1969)
  • Robert Charlebois & Louise Forestier: Lindberg (1968)
  • Gordon Lightfoot: Lightfoot! (1966)
  • Joni Mitchell: Court And Spark (1974)
  • The Oscar Peterson Trio: Night Train (1963)
  • Jackie Shane: Live! (1967)
  • Neil Young: Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere (1969)
  • Neil Young: After The Gold Rush (1970)

For more information, see Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize

2 Replies to “Songs of Leonard Cohen Wins Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize (Jury Vote)1960-1975”